News, PM Cup Women's Tournament

Koshi outclass Sudurpaschim to book a final spot in the Women’s PM Cup

Koshi Province women have booked a place in the final of the PM Cup Women’s National Tournament 2080. Koshi defeated Sudurpaschim Women by nine wickets in Qualifier 2 to bag a final spot in two consecutive editions.

Koshi were the runner-ups of 2079’s edition losing the final against Sudurpaschim in the tournament held in Itahari. However, they have completed revenge against Sudurpaschim this time around.

Chasing a target of 89 runs, Koshi completed a chase in just 13 overs losing only one wicket. Rubina Chhetri played an aggressive knock of 23-ball 37 with seven fours and one six. Kajol Shrestha remained unbeaten for 38 runs from 35 balls whilst Apsari Begam also added 12* runs.

May be an image of 6 people and text that says 'CAN #OneBallBattles BAT.2 19 1 9 TARGET 89 Dal EXTRA'S 3'

Koshi will now face APF women in the final on January 3 at TU Cricket Ground.

Earlier in the first inning, Sudurpaschim could score only 88/7 in the allotted 20 overs. Koshi, under the commendable captaincy of Rubina Chhetri, effectively curtailed their opponent’s scoring, limiting them to an average total.

Opener Bindu Rawal had to walk back for 17 runs after being run out. Samjhana Khadka and Kabita Joshi batted well together, adding 32 runs for the third wicket. Unfortunately, Samjhana got out for 25, and at that point, Sudurpashim had reached a score of 64 for the loss of 3 wickets in 13.2 overs.

Rubina Chhetri effectively rotated her bowlers, preventing Kabita Joshi from scoring big. Kabita could only accumulate 15 runs from 29 balls under Chhetri’s strategic bowling changes. Following Samjhana’s dismissal, Sudurpaschim struggled to add runs, managing only 24 in the final 6.4 overs while losing four more wickets.

For Koshi, Sangita Rai was the pick of a bowler. She picked up two wickets conceding just 13 runs. Sabnam Rai (4-0-11-1) and Rubina Chhetri (4-1-13-0) also bolwed an economical spell.