International, Nepal Men

Mission Asia Cup…

The much-awaited ACC Men’s Premier Cup starts tomorrow (April 18) on Tuesday. The tournament is the gateway to the Asia Cup, with the winner sealing a spot in the 2023’s edition.

Nepal will kick off the tournament by facing Malaysia at TU Cricket Ground.

Nepal hasn’t yet managed to feature in Asia Cup. In fact, only seven countries – India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Hong Kong and UAE have featured in the tournament.

With the qualifying tournament being held on their home turf, Nepal has an excellent opportunity to secure a place in the Asia Cup for the first time. After the appointment of Monty Desai as Nepal’s head coach, the team’s performance has been outstanding, especially on their home ground.

They won 11 out of their last 12 matches in the CWC League 2, earning a direct spot in the World Cup Qualifiers 2023. Impressively, they won all eight of their matches at TU Cricket Ground, achieving a 100% result.

With another tournament on home ground and the team’s recent form, Nepalese fans are optimistic about Nepal’s place in the Asia Cup.

Malaysia, Oman, Qatar and Saudi Arabia are placed in Group A, along with Nepal. Two teams will qualify for the semifinal from each group. Hence Nepal holds a good chance to see themselves in the top four.

UAE, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Bahrain and Singapore are in Group B. Looking at the recent form, UAE, Hong Kong, and Singapore are the possible threats to Nepal from the opposing group.

The top three teams of the tournament will get a spot in the Emerging Asia Cup. So, in case of any upset in the semifinal, Nepal holds a chance to feature in the tournament winning the third-place match.

Nepal’s Schedule:

April 18 – Nepal vs Malaysia (TU)

April 21 – Nepal vs Oman (TU)

April 24 – Nepal vs Saudi Arabia (Mulpani)

April 27 -Nepal vs Qatar (TU)

Nepal’s Squad: Rohit Paudel (c), Aasif Sheikh, Kushal Bhurtel, Kushal Malla, Gyanendra Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee, Aarif Sheikh, Bhim Sharki, Karan KC, Gulshan Jha, Sompal Kami, Sandeep Lamichhane, Lalit Rajbanshi, Pratish GC

Surya Tamang, Kishore Mahato, Sundeep Jora, Arjun Saud

Feature Photo – Neplays