Nepal Men

Nepal’s squad announced for T20 World Cup Asia Qualifier

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has announced the squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup Asia Qualifier. Regular captain Rohit Paudel will lead the 15-man squad.

Sandeep Lamichhane, who had previously withdrawn his name and took a break from the recently concluded Tri-series, has now returned to the squad. Additionally, Lalit Rajbanshi, who had recovered from an injury in the previous series, has solidified his position in the team.

The young allrounder Bibek Yadav, wicketkeeper-batter Binod Bhandari, and left-arm pacer Pratsh GC have all retained their positions in the team.

The pivotal T20 World Cup Asia Qualifier is scheduled to take place from October 30th to November 5th. Eight teams are grouped into two, and the top two teams from each group will secure a spot in the semifinals. The two ultimate finalists will earn qualification for the forthcoming T20 World Cup in 2024, which will be held in the USA and West Indies.

Nepal is grouped in Group A alongside Malaysia, Oman, and Singapore. Group B consists of Hong Kong, UAE, Kuwait and Bahrain.

Nepal will start the campaign against Singapore on October 30. Team Nepal will face Malaysia and Oman on 31st October and November 2 respectively. All the matches will be played at TU Cricket Ground and Mulpani Cricket Ground with the final being scheduled at TU Ground.

Nepal’s Squad:

Rohit Paudel (c), Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif Sheikh (wk), Kushal Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee, Sundeep Jora, Gulshan Jha, Bibek Yadav, Binod Bhandari (wk), Pratish GC, Karan KC, Sompal Kami, Sandeep Lamichhane, Abinash Bohara, Lalit Rajbanshi.