ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier, News

Oman announces the squad for World Cup Qualifier

Oman Cricket Team has announced the squad to feature in ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers. Regular Captain Zeeshan Maqsood is set to lead a 15-man squad, announced on Wednesday.

Oman is placed in Group B alongside Sri Lanka, Scotland, UAE and Ireland. They will start the campaign on June 19 against Ireland. Moreover, they will face Zimbabwe and Nepal in the warmup matches before getting into the main event.

Duleep Mendis, the Head Coach, mentioned that the team has scheduled a 12-day pre-World Cup Qualifier tour to Durban, South Africa. The five practice matches in Durban are expected to be beneficial in honing the players’ skills, and it is anticipated that they will be fully prepared by the end of the trip. The team considers the upcoming two official warm-up games against Nepal and Zimbabwe in Harare to be crucial, aiming for a successful performance during their time in Zimbabwe.

The tournament is scheduled to take place between June 18th and July 9th. The top three teams from both groups will advance to the Super Six stage. In the Super Six, those teams will face each other, and the two teams with the highest rankings will proceed to the final. Both finalists will secure their spots in the Cricket World Cup 2023. ICC has already revealed the fixtures for the tournament.

West IndiesNetherlands, Ireland and Scotland have already made official announcements regarding their respective squads for the tournament. On the other hand, Nepal has unveiled a preliminary squad comprising 22 players.

Oman Squad: Zeeshan Maqsood (c), Aqib Ilyas (vc), Jatinder Singh, Kashyap Prajapati, Shoaib Khan, Mohammed Nadeem, Sandeep Goud, Ayaan Khan, Suraj Kumar, Adeel Shafique, Naseem Khushi, Bilal Khan, Kaleemullah, Fayyaz Butt, Jay Odedra, Samay Shrivastav, Rafiullah