Nepal Men

PNG dominates Nepal in Hong Kong Men’s T20I Series final

Papua New Guinea (PNG) has won the trophy of the Hong Kong Men’s T20I series defeating Nepal in the final. They thrashed Nepal by 86 runs to clinch the trophy. Nepal has now faced defeat in the finals for the fourth consecutive time.

Chasing a target of 172 runs, Nepal were bowled out for 85 runs in 16.3 overs, which is their fifth-lowest score in T20I. Nepal were never in the contest, losing wickets at regular intervals. Openers Binod Bhandari (4) and Kushal Bhurtel (5) were dismissed cheaply as Nepal were 16/2 in the third over. Gulshan Jha was run out for six whilst Rohit Paudel (12) followed him to the pavilion in the next over.

Sundeep Jora was looking good until Chad Soper dismissed him for 17. Bibek Yadav had a forgetful outing scoring just one from 10 balls. Aarif Sheikh too struggled and scored 20-ball 15. Nepal were 85/7, but lost the last three wickets for no runs, facing a big defeat of 86 runs. 

For PNG, Chad Soper, Sese Bau, Semo Kamea and

Earlier in the first innings, PNG posted 171/8 at the end of the allotted 20 overs after being asked to bat first at Mission Road Ground.

Nepal had a flying start after Karan KC dismissed Sese Bau for a golden duck in the first over. Aakash Chand sent back Assad Vala (2) and Lega Siaka (2) cheaply whilst Gulshan Jha took a wicket of Hiri Hiri (15). PNG were down to 43/4 in the sixth over.

Tony Ura and Hila Vare shared 48 runs for the fifth wicket before Vare walked back for 18. Tony Ura smacked a quick half-century and bought his side into the contest. Eventually, He was dismissed for 37-ball 61 with the help of five fours and four sixes. PNG added 28 runs from the last two overs to post a competitive total. Alei Nao hammered 10-ball 30* with three biggies.

For Nepal, Kushal Bhurtel (4-0-24-3) and Aakash Chand (4-0-41-3) picked up three wickets each. Karan KC and Gulshan Jha also took one wicket each.