ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier

Zimbabwe announces the strong squad for World Cup Qualifier

The host Zimbabwe has announced the squad for ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier. Skipper Craig Ervine will be leading the 15-man squad, aiming to get success in front of the home supporters.

Zimbabwe is placed in Group A alongside Nepal, West Indies, the USA and Netherlands. The home side will start the campaign facing Nepal on June 18 at Harare Sports Club. They will face Oman and Scotland in the warm-up matches before going to the main event.

Only three changes have been made by Zimbabwe to their squad for the vital tournament, compared to the 15 players who competed in the T20 World Cup last year. Regis Chakabva, Milton Shumba, and Tony Munyonga have been left out, while Joylord Gumbie, Tadiwanashe Marumani, and Innocent Kaia have been included in the squad.

The tournament is scheduled to take place between June 18th and July 9th. The top three teams from both groups will advance to the Super Six stage. In the Super Six, those teams will face each other, and the two teams with the highest rankings will proceed to the final. Both finalists will secure their spots in the Cricket World Cup 2023. ICC has already revealed the fixtures for the tournament.

West IndiesNetherlandsIrelandOman, USA, Nepal and Scotland have already made official announcements regarding their respective squads for the tournament.

Zimbabwe squad: Craig Ervine (c), Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara, Bradley Evans, Joylord Gumbie, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wellington Masakadza, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Sikandar Raza, Sean Williams.