National, News

APF and Nepalgunj set final clash

Nary Thapa

Region Number 5 Nepalgunj and Armed Police Force(APF) entered into the final of the Wai Wai Women’s National T20 Cricket Tourament with respective wins on Tuesday in Pokhara.

Nepalgunj defeated Region Number 6 in an exciting match by 13 runs while APF defeated Region Number 3 Kathmandy by 7 wickets.

In the first semi final match played at Nagar Bikash Ground, Baitadi won the toss and went into bat first.

Laxmui Chaudhary and Sanju Chaudhary shared an opening partnership of 22 runs while they lost their second wicket at the score of 50 in 12.4 overs. Laxmi Chaudhary scored 26 runs off 40 balls with two fours before being run out. Manisha Rawal added 10 off 32 while Trishna Singh remained not out at 12 runs.

Rekha Rawal claimed three wickets while Janaki Bhatt picked up a wicket for Baitadi.

In reply, Baitadi were restricted to 59 runs in 18.3 overs. Roshani Bohara scored 21 runs off 38 balls with a four while Rekha Rawal added 11. None of the other batsman could score a double digit score as Baitadi lost all their wickets.

Player of the match Nary Thapa grabbed two wickets. Trishna Singha and Samjhana Sharma also claimed two wickets each. Samana Pun also took one wicket for Nepalgunj.

In the second semi final, Kathmandu won the toss and elected to bat first. But beside, Geeta Chudal, none of the other batsman could entere the double digit figure as Kathmandu had to limit themselves for just 50 runs in 20 overs. Sangeeta Gauchan scored only 7 runs while Shilu Rijal was out for 4 runs. Rest of the batsman couldn’t add much runs.

For APF, Neera Rajopadhaya and Sonu Khadka grabbed two wickets each while Rubina Chhetri claimed one.

In reply, APF chased the target in 11.1 overs. Madhu Thapa and Sarita Magar scored 15 runs each for APF while player of the match Neera Rajopadhaya remained unbeaten at 14 runs.

Geeta Chudal, Sangeeta Gauchan and Shilu Rijal picked up wicket apiece for Kathmandu.

The final will be played on Wednesday.