Dhangadhi lifts Kathmandu Cricket League 2015

Kathmandu- Dhagahdi United lifted the Kathmandu Cricket League Trophy defeating Kathmandu Cricket Training Center (KCTC) by 105 runs in the final played at Tundikhel Ground, Kathmandu on Sunday.

Dhangadhi won the toss and decided to bat frist. Openers Sunil Dhamala and Amit Shrestha shared a magnificent 171 runs partnership for the first wicket that laid the foundation for a total of 248/10 runs on the board. Though, the target that Dhangahdi achieved was less regarding the start they got, it was more than enough for them to win the match.

Sunil was the first to get out for a personal score of 73 runs from 93 balls while Amit fell 7 short of a century. Siddhat Lohani blasted a 15 ball 31 runs, before Dhangahdi got all out for 248 runs in 44.1 overs. Manish Sahani picked four wickets while Rajesh Pulami, Nandan Yadav, and Pritam Thapa bagged two wickets each.

KCTC never got to the target, chasing a stiff target. They were already 28/4 in 6.2 overs with their top four batsman Mahesh Chettri, Aashish Dhami, Manish Sahani and Rajesh Pulami back to the pavilion. Birkam Thagunna and Mahesh Adhikari got the 2 wickets each among the four. Adil Khan and Sanjaya Basnet showed some fight scoring 35 and 57 runs respectively but it was too late for them.

KCTC eventually got rattled up for 143 runs in 24.3 overs. Thagunna and Mahesh went up to pick three wickets each while Sunil Dhamala also got three wickets to his name.

The 50- over competition was first of its type, organized by Himalaya Sports Pvt Ltd.

Also, a Great Himalaya Cricket Academy organized special cricket match between National Players and U-12 school level boys at TU Ground to promote school cricket. 2-overs-per-side match was played at Tundikhel, the heart of Kathmandu where senior team captain Paras Khadka won the toss and elected to bat first. They managed to make 10 runs in 2 overs. U-12 boys won the match scoring 11 runs in allocated 2 overs.

School Cricket
National Players VS U-12 Boys

Trophies and awards

Dhangadi- United Winner Trophy,Cash Prize of NRS 50,000
KCTC-Runner Up Trophy, Cash Prize of NRS 25,000

Best Batsman Sunam Gautam (SS Event Pvt Ltd)
Best Bowler Nandan Yadav (KCTC)
Best Fielder Bishwas Adhikari (LBCC)
Best Promosing Player Rajbir Sing (Dhangadi United)
Emerging Player Sudheer Chaudhary (Srijananagar)
U-19 Emerging Player Sujan Thapaliya (LBCC)
Player of the Tournament Ashish Dhami(KCTC)