Hong Kong Name Squad for T20 World Cup

Hong Kong Cricket Association
Young speedster Ehasan Nawaz and former captain Najeeb Amar make it to final 15

The Hong Kong Selectors have named the 15-man Hong Kong squad for the ICC World Twenty20 2014 campaign in Bangladesh.  Nepal and Hong Kong open their first T20 International match facing each other on 16th March.


  • Jamie Atkinson (Captain)
  • Waqas Barkat (Vice Captain)
  • Mark Chapman
  • Irfan Ahmed
  • Nadeem Ahmed
  • Haseeb Amjad
  • Tanwir Afzal
  • Babar Hayat
  • Nizakat Khan
  • Aizaz Khan
  • Najeeb Amar
  • Moner Ahmed
  • Ehsan Nawaz
  • Roy Lamsam
  • Kinchit Shah

New to the squad is young fast bowler Ehsan Nawaz while former Hong Kong captain Najeeb Amar returns to the team for the first time since 2011.

The team will depart from Hong Kong on 22nd February 2014. They will undertake an intensive training and match practice program in Sri Lanka and Dubai before heading on to Bangladesh on 9th March 2014.

In Bangladesh, the team will be based in the port city of Chittagong and will play two warm-up games against Zimbabwe and Netherlands before facing Nepal, Afghanistan and Bangladesh in ICC World Twenty20 2014 group matches. Matches against Zimbabwe, Nepal and Bangladesh will be played at night under lights.

ICC World Twenty20 2014 Itinerary for Hong Kong:

  • March 12, v. Zimbabwe (D/N) (warm-up game)
  • March 14, v. Netherlands (warm-up game)
  • March 16, v. Nepal (D/N)
  • March 18, v. Afghanistan
  • March 20, v. Bangladesh (D/N)