Nepal register 15 run-win over PNG in T20I series opener

Latest news

- Advertisement -
Topics mentioned in this article
- Advertisement -

Kathmandu – Nepal defeated Papua New Guinea in the opening match of the Tri-Nation T20I Series by 15 runs.

The hosts defeated Papua New Guinea in the opening match played at the Tribhuvan Cricket Ground in Kirtipur today. Chasing Nepal’s victory target of 184 runs, Papua New Guinea were bowled out for 168 runs in 19.2 overs.

Norman Vanua made 52 runs and remained the top scorer for Papua New Guinea.

For Nepal, Karan KC and Sandeep Lamichhane grabbed three wickets each while Avinash Bohara took two and Sompal Kami one. Nepal’s Skipper Sandeep Lamichhane was adjudged the player of the match for his three wickets for 22 runs.

Lamichanne also becomes the first player to take at least one wicket in 20 consecutive men’s T20I innings. New Zealand’s Ish Sodhi, the closest to him, took a wicket in 17 consecutive innings.

Earlier, put into bat, Nepal put up 183 runs for the loss of 9 wickets on the board. Asif Sheikh was the top scorer for Nepal with 43 runs. Similarly, Rohit Poudel scored 34, Arif Sheikh 31, Kushal Bhurtel 20, Karan KC 19, and Kushal Malla added 11 runs.

Papua New Guinea’s Charles Amini, Alei Nao, and Chad Soper took two wickets each while Norman Vanua and Riley Hekure took one wicket each.

With the victory, Nepal has added 2 points.

Nepal will now play its second match against Malaysia on Wednesday in the series involving Nepal, Papua New Guinea and Malaysia. Papua New Guinea and Malaysia will face each other on Tuesday.

Related news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -