National, Nepal Women

Preview: A test of temperament against Bangladesh

Chitwan – Nepal Women cricket team have somehow managed to reach the knockout stage after a 46 run win over Malaysia Women on Monday at Incheon and will face Bangladeshi women- the runner up of the previous Asian Games Women’s Cricket Event on September 24 at the Yeonhui Cricket Ground, Incheon.

Two matched down -Nepal Women have managed to score just 152 in 40 overs at rate of less than 4 runs an over. The individual strike rates are even more horrible – the strike rate (80) of Sarita Magar (at least 10 runs scored) in the last game against Malaysia Women is the highest. A problem with Nepali team has been batting the first 6 overs-scoring low and losing vital wicket. The bowling as always has been far better as compared to batting. Bowlers have bowled tidely at an overall economy of 3.9 in previous two matches.

On the other hand, Bangladesh Women team being an ODI nation got direct entry into the Quarter Final and will look to start up the tournament with a win against Nepal.

The last time these two teams faced each other was at Guanggong International Cricket Stadium (neutral venue) on 26 October 2012 (ACC Women’s Twenty20 Asia Cup 2012). Bangladesh women (46/1) thrashed Nepal(45/10) by 9 wickets with 57 balls remaining.

Conditions, Prediction and Toss:
The condition at Incheon is slow and helping the spinners. Its going to be the low scoring match and the score of around 120-130 will be healthy. The team wining the toss shall choose to bowl first as it’s a knock out game and batting with a task ahead is a better option.


Nepal Women Team:
Anjali Chand, Rubina Chhetry (c), Mamta Chaudhary, Karuna Bhandari, Sonu Khadka, Saraswati Kumari, Sarita Magar, Sita Rana Magar, Mamta Thapa†(vc), Nary Thapa, R Rawal, Kajol Shrestha, Sobha Aale, Trishna Singh, Indu Verma

Bangladesh Women Team:
Shohaly Akther, Ayasha Rahman, Fahima Khatun, Fargana Hoque, Jahanara Alam, Khadija Tul Kubra, Lata Mondal† (c), Nuzhat Tasnia, Panna Ghosh, Rumana Ahmed, Salma Khatun, Sanjida Islam, Shahanaz Parvin, Shaila Sharmin, Sharmin Akhter