Prime Minister Cup Men’s cricket tournament in T20 format announced

Kathmandu – Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) today announced the groups and fixtures for the Prime Minister Cup Men’s National tournament, ahead of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Global Qualifier Group A.

The tournament is going to be held from 10 – 19 January in Kathmandu with ten domestic teams, including the Tribhuvan Army Club, Nepal Police Club, and Nepal Armed Police Force Club.

The PM Cup will have two groups, with defending champions Tribhuvan Army Club pooled along with Nepal Police Club, Karnali Province, Sudurpaschim Province, and Province 1 in Group A.

Group B will comprise Nepal APF Club, Province 2, Bagmati Province, Lumbini Province, and Gandaki Province.

Tribhuvan Army Club faces Karnali Province on the opening day at TU cricket ground while APF Club will take on Province 2 later. Likewise, Nepal Police Club plays Sudurpaschim in the first match at Mulpani cricket ground and later Bagmati faces Lumbini province.

All the matches will be played at Mulpani Cricket ground and Tribhuvan University Cricket ground in Kathmandu.

This is the fifth edition of the Prime Minister’s Cup Cricket and it is going to be held in T20 style for the first time. The previous four editions were organised in the 50-over format. The 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Global Qualifier Group A is scheduled from 15 – 25 February 2022 in Oman hence, CAN opted to choose the T20 format.

“PM Cup Men’s National Cricket Tournament will be conducted in T20 format following approval from National Sports Council (NSC). The tournament shall serve as part of the selection process for the upcoming World T20 Global Qualifiers in Oman”, CAN announced on the social post.