Nepal Men, News

Nepal’s probable squad for T20 World Cup 2024

We are just a month away from the T20 World Cup 2024 in the West Indies and USA. The excitement has already started building among Nepalese fans as well because Nepal is set to compete in the T20 World Cup after ten long years.

Nepal’s last appearance in the T20 World Cup was in 2014, held in Bangladesh. This time, Nepal secured a place in the tournament by finishing as runners-up in the Asia Qualifier, earning a ticket to the mega event.

The teams competing in the tournament have begun announcing their squads. The defending champions, England, along with strong title contenders such as India, Australia, and South Africa, have all revealed their squad.

The deadline for submitting the squad is May 1, and CAN is expected to announce the roster for a major tournament today. So, who will be the 15 players to represent Nepal in their second appearance in the T20 World Cup? Here is the probable squad:

Captain Rohit Paudel will lead the side with Aasif Sheikh and Anil Sah being the glove option. Kushal Bhurtel, Sundeep Jora and Aarif Sheikh could be a batting option.

Nepal has spin-bowling all-rounders with Kushal Malla (left) and DS Airee (right), while Gulshan Jha serves as a pace-bowling all-rounder.

Sompal Kami, Karan KC and Abinash Bohara are an obvious pick in the pace department. Nepal has invested a lot in Pratish GC lately so he could be the fourth pacer in the team, also he can play big shots down the order.

Lalit Rajbanshi is the premium spinner for Nepal currently in the absence of Sandeep Lamichhane. It could be either Sagar Dhakal (spin option) or Kamal Singh Airee (pace option) grabbing the spot in the team.

Captain – Rohit Paudel

WK Batters – Aasif Sheikh, Anil Sah

Batters – Kushal Bhurtel, Sundeep Jora, Aarif Sheikh

All-rounders – Kushal Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee, Gulshan Jha

Pacers – Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Abinash Bohara, Pratish GC, *Kamal Airee*

Spinners – Lalit Rajbanshi, *Sagar Dhakal*

** Either ** Or **

Nepal’s probable squad: Rohit Paudel (c), Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif Sheikh (wk), Anil Sah (wk), Kushal Malla, DS Airee, Sompal Kami, Gulshan Jha, Karan KC, Lalit Rajbanshi, Abinash Bohara, Sundeep Jora, Aarif Sheikh, Pratish GC, KS Airee/Sagar Dhakal