PM Cup Women's Tournament

PM Cup Women’s National Tournament: Day 2 summary

On the second day of the Prime Minister (PM) Cup women’s national tournament, Koshi, Gandaki, APF and Sudurpaschim bagged a win. Like the first-day result, three teams won the match while chasing whereas only one team won the game after batting first.

Here is the summary of Day 2:

Koshi emerges victorious in a competitive battle against Bagmati

Koshi Province women registered a back-to-back win in the tournament after a fighting win against Bagmati Province women at TU Cricket Ground. Chasing a target of 88 runs, Koshi reached the target in 18.1 overs losing two wickets. Kajol Shrestha (41*) and Apsari Begam (41) shared 82 runs for the second wicket to ensure Koshi’s win. Apsari received the second POTM award in a row.

Earlier, Bagmati posted 87/8 in 20 overs. They were 21/4 after the ninth over but the duo of Yashoda Bist (41 runs) and Ashmina Karmacharya (24 runs) shared 55 runs for the fifth wicket to rescue the team. No other batters could score a double-digit figure. Sabnam Rai and Apsari Begam picked up two wickets each for Koshi.

Gandaki secure their first win

Gandaki Province women bagged their first win of the tournament with a 44-run win over Karnali Province women in the first clash at Mulpani Cricket Ground. Gandaki posted 141/6 after a half-century from two batters. Anjali Bishowkarma scored 51 runs whereas Jyotsnika Marasini added 50 runs for which she received POTM award. Yamuna Tharu and Anju Gurung pocketed two wickets each for Karnali.

In response, Karnali managed 97/6 on the board after the completion of 20 overs. Gauri Bohara top-scored with 26 runs whilst Yamuna Tharu and Trisana Bishwokarma added 21 and 19 runs.

APF displays dominance, overpowers Madhesh

APF women thrashed Madhesh Province women by ten wickets to secure a back-to-victory. Chasing a mere target of 41 runs, APF completed the chase in 5.5 overs without losing any wickets. Sita Rana Magar and Jyoti Pandey remained unbeaten for 19 and 16 runs. Sita was adjudged player of the match.

Earlier, Madhesh were bowled out for 40 runs in front of APF’s rigid bowling attack. Only Pratima Shah (15) crossed the double-digit score. Sita Rana Magar took three wickets whereas pacers Rekha Rawal and Sonu Khadka pocketed two wickets each.

Sudurpaschim thrash Lumbini

Sudurpaschim Province women are back on track after a defeat in the first match. They defeated Lumbini Province women by nine wickets in the second match in Mulpani. Chasing a target of 72 runs Sudurpaschim took only 9.5 overs to complete a chase. Kabita Joshi smacked 12-ball 24 whereas Rubi Poddar and Rewati Dhami scored 14 and 17* runs.

In the first inning, Lumbini scored 71/7 in the allotted 20 overs. Saraswati Pun scored 19 while Ashma Pulami Magar and Sushmita Bajgain added 19 and 14 runs. For Sudurpaschim, Laxmi Saud produced a magical figure of 4-0-5-2 and received a POTM award.