PM Cup Women's Tournament

PM Cup Women’s National Tournament: Match-Day 4 Summary

The fourth round of the Prime Minister Cup Women’s National Tournament concluded on Monday. The fifth round will be played on Wednesday after one day’s rest on Tuesday. Lumbini, Madhesh, Sudurpaschim and APF were victorious in a blockbuster Monday.

Here is the summary of Match-Day 4:

Lumbini bags an easy win over Karnali

Lumbini Province women bagged their second win after registering an easy 30-run win over Karnali Province women. Lumbini posted 133/5 after a half-century from skipper Saraswati GM. Her 53* knock also yielded a POTM award. Aashma Pulami and Chameli Chaudhary also contributed 22 and 18 runs.

In reply, Karnali scored 103/7 after 20 overs. Gauri Bohara and Yamuna Tharu scored 22 and 21 runs respectively. Saraswati Pun and Kritika Marasini picked up two wickets each for Lumbini. Karnali are yet to book any victory in the tournament.

Puja Mahato star in Madhesh’s first victory

Madhesh Province women registered their first win of the tournament with a 27-run win against Gandaki Province women. Puja Mahato top scored with 38 runs and Saraswati Chaudhary scored 21-ball 26 as Madhesh posted 112/7.

Gandaki following a target of 113 runs, ended up scoring 85 runs before being bowled out in 19.4 overs. Suman Khatiwada’s brisk 33-ball 42 proved insufficient as she lacked substantial support from her fellow teammates. Puja Mahato (3.4-1-7-3) picked up three wickets as well and was adjudged Player of the match.

Sudurpaschim defeats Bagmati in a close contest

Sudurpaschim Women grabbed a win against Bagmati Province women in a fighting clash. Chasing a target of 88 runs, Sudurpaschim completed a chase in 19 overs losing four wickets. Bindu Rawal played an anchoring knock of 28 runs whilst Kabita Joshi made the difference with 22-ball 27.

Earlier, Bagmati posted 87/8 despite having a brilliant start. They were 60/2 after 12 overs but they could add only 27 runs from the remaining eight overs losing six wickets in process. Kabita Joshi (4-0-14-2) and Laxmi Saud (4-0-11-2) were the star bowlers grabbing two wickets each. Kabita was awarded POTM for her all-round show. This is Sudurpaschim’s third win in four matches.

APF continue their winning run defeating Koshi

APF club continued their winning run with an eight-wicket win over Koshi. Meanwhile, Koshi’s winning streak comes to an end after APF chased a target of 85 runs set by them. Indu Barma scored 34-ball 36 as APF completed a chase in 17.3 overs. Jyoti Pandey and Sita Rana Magar also scored 22 and 18 runs.

Earlier, Koshi posted 84/2 at the end of 20 overs. Rubina Chhetri scored 41 runs from 58 balls whereas Kajal Shrestha 25 runs from 46 balls. Indu Barma was awarded the POTM award for her crucial knock.

Points table after fourth round. (via ESPNcricinfo)